ArmeniaUseful ›  


The Armenian national currency is the dram. Paper notes are issued in denominations of 500, 1.000, 5.000, 10.000, 20.000 and 50.000 Dram. All new Armenian Dram banknotes have been printed on high quality 100 % cotton fibre paper. Visible and invisible fibres for reasons of security are interwoven in the paper. The 50.000 dram banknote, in circulation since 2001, commemorates the 1700 anniversary of the adoption of Christianity in Armenia as a state religion, the first country to do so. Coins replace all banknotes less than 500 dram (10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500). Foreign bank notes can be exchanged at local banks and at exchange counters.

There is no limitation on the amount of money exchanged.