Armenia (Armenian: Հայաստան, Hayastan, Հայք, Hayq), officially the Republic of Armenia, is a landlocked mountainous country in the Southern Caucasus (Transcaucasus), bordered by Turkey to the west, Georgia to the north, Azerbaijan to the east, and Iran and the Nakhichevan exclave of Azerbaijan to the south. A former republic of the Soviet Union, Armenia is one of the oldest and most historic civilizations in the world. It is considered to be the place where Biblical Noah and his descendants first settled, as well as the first nation to adopt Christianity as its official religion since 301 A.D. Although Armenia is constitutionally a secular state, Christianity plays a major role in both its history and the identification of the Armenian people.

Armenia is currently a member of more than 35 different international organizations including the United Nations, the Council of Europe, the Commonwealth of Independent States, and the World Trade Organization. It is also an observer member of the Eurasian Economic Community, La Francophonie, and the Non-Aligned Movement. The country is an emerging democracy and because of its strategic location, it is in both the Russian and American spheres of influence.

Հայաստանի Հանրապետություն
Hayastani Hanrapetutyun
Republic of Armenia

Flag of Armenia Coat of arms
Flag Coat of arms

Motto: Armenian: Մեկ Ազգ, Մեկ Մշակույթ
(Transliteration: Mek Azg, Mek Mshakouyt)
(Translation: "One Nation, One Culture")

Anthem: Mer Hayrenik
("Our Fatherland")

Capital Yerevan
Largest city Yerevan
Official language(s) Armenian
Government Republic
 - Total
 - Water (%)

29 800 km² (142nd)
11,506 sq mi
 - 2005 est.
 - 1989 census
 - Density

3,016,000 (136th)
100/km² (98th)
259/sq mi
 - Total
 - Per capita
 2005 estimate
$ 13.65 billion (127th)
$ 4,600 (115th)
HDI (2003) 0.759 (83rd)
Currency Dram (AMD)
Time zone
 - Summer (DST)